EU says no more visa waiver for US and Canadian citizens

Europe flagThe latest immigration news is that the EU has proposed that Americans and Canadians must apply for a visa, irrespective of whether they plan a short visit or a longer one. The EU has insisted more EU countries need to be included to the list of those countries whose citizens are not required to obtain a visa when traveling to the US. If the United States doesn’t meet the terms then American travelers will be required to apply and obtain a visa when heading for Europe. Americans and Canadians have only required a passport at the time they visit the EU. Citizens from Romania, Croatia, Bulgaria, Cyprus and Poland visiting the US need to apply and obtain a visa, prior to the visit. Romanians and Bulgarians also require a visa when visiting Canada. According to the latest immigration news, the EU’s objective is to get better reciprocity for all member state citizens traveling to the US and Canada; in short, a complete waiver on all visa requirements. The current situation is unfair and is a main concern for the European Union, according to one of the spokespersons, for the EU Commission. The requirements for US Visa Waiver Policy have not been fulfilled by some countries Some EU countries have still not fulfilled some of the requirements for the visa waiver policy. According to EU’s State Department officials, they are in discussion with these countries regarding the program’s core requirements as well as the progress they are making. According to the latest immigration news, even the Canadian visa policy fails to recognize visa waiver reciprocity. Under the EU rules, two years after the countries have been advised of the state of affairs, the European Union needs to initiate the mutual visa waiver requirements for the countries that prefer not to waive the visa requirement for citizens from European Union. The UK and Ireland being the only two EU countries to have opted to be out of EU’s current visa policy program, however, the Americans can still travel to both Ireland and UK, without a visa. Currently, there are 38 Countries whose citizens can travel visa-free to United States are listed –Andorra, Brunei, Australia, Iceland, Chile, Japan, Monaco, Lichtenstein, San Marino, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan and the 23 European Union countries. The visa requirement proposal is on hold The visa requirement proposal has been put on hold by EU authorities until mid-summer. The deadline has been set for July twelfth by the commission set up by EU for reviewing and revamping EU’s visa policy. The EU member states and the EU Parliament will advise as the latest immigration news concerns the transatlantic relations. However, after the deadline, the commission may possibly start enforcing visa requirements for Canadians and Americans.

Share your Comments

Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon