Applications invited for immigration to British Columbia

Applications invited for immigration to British Columbia The draw that took place on December 8, 2016, saw the luck of a total of 500 candidates change overnight as they received an Invitation to Apply (ITA) to the British Columbia Provincial Nominee Program (BCPNP) for immigration to British Columbia, Canada. This invitation also paved the way for applying to the federal government for permanent resident status.


Of the 500 candidates, some will be eligible to apply through BCPNP aligned with federal Express Entry selection system, while others, outside the Express Entry system at the federal level. All candidates are required to register with the Skills Immigration Registration Systems (SIRS) pool and choose their stream and category, depending upon their points score. This score is based on the candidates’ civil status, education, work experience, and other factors. The BC government carries out periodic draws for issuing ITAs and awards it to the highest ranking candidates in the SIRS pool.


The stream of BCPNP, affiliated to the Express Entry system, is accorded priority with regard to processing of application at both provincial and federal stages. The candidates of this stream must meet the essential eligibility criteria for entering the federal Express Entry pool in one of the three federal economic programs, namely Federal Skilled Worker Class (FSW), Canadian Experience Class (CEC), or Federal Skilled Trades Class (FST).


Under the Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS), 600 points are awarded to individuals of the Express Entry pool, who have received provincial nomination certificate from BC. The points facilitate the candidate in getting an ITA in an Express Entry draw that is held at a later stage. This is not applicable to BCPNP categories not aligned with the federal Express Entry system.


Express Entry BC has two categories – Skilled Worker and International Graduate. The former includes international skilled workers with post-secondary education and experience in professional, technical or other miscellaneous skilled occupation, while the latter encompasses international graduates from any Canadian educational institutions.


Skills Immigration has three categories: Skilled Worker category that for candidates with post-secondary education and experience in a skilled occupation; International Graduates category for candidates graduated from any of the Canadian educational institutions and for them no experience is required; and Entry Level and Semi-Skilled category that includes persons who may not be eligible for other Canadian immigration programs, as they may be allowed to apply for permanent residence by working in an eligible occupation.


Share your Comments

Please Login to view/submit Comments & Replys

Hi! How can we help you?

Click below button to start chat

Chat Icon
chat icon